2.15. Saving Your Customized EnSight Preferences

EnSight Preferences

The first time EnSight is run by an individual user, a private preferences directory is created for that user. A number of different files that control EnSight defaults are stored in the preferences directory and are read as EnSight starts up. When reading a preference file, EnSight first looks for the file in the user's private preferences directory, and failing that, it looks in the site_preferences directory. The location of the user's private preferences directory is shown in the Help → Version... dialog. The different preferences, their files and the file formats are documented elsewhere in this manual Variables and EnSight Calculator.

Disabling EnSight Preferences

The command line flag (-no_prefs) can be used to force EnSight to ignore the files in the user's private preferences directory for a single run of EnSight. This can be useful to reset various files to their default values or to clear potentially corrupted caches (see Command Line Start-up Options).