For Ansys Workbench users, customized user licensing preferences (if present), are automatically migrated when you install a new Ansys release. For example, if you already have Ansys release 2024 R1 installed on your computer and you upgrade to release 2024 R2, your customized user licensing preferences (if present), are automatically migrated to the new version.
If you are using an Ansys product other than workbench, you can manually migrate your customized user licensing preferences by running the ansysli_util.exe file.
To run the ansysli_util.exe, follow the steps for your platform below:
Windows:
Where <Installation Directory> represents the path to the latest Ansys Product install, open an administrator command prompt window and issue the following command:
"<Installation Directory>\<Version
Number>\licensingclient\winx64\ansysli_util.exe" -updateuserprefs -fromrevn
<previous release>
Example:
"C:\Program Files\ANSYS
Inc\v242\licensingclient\winx64\ansysli_util.exe"
-updateuserprefs -fromrevn 242
Linux:
Where <Installation Directory> represents the path to the latest Ansys Product install, open a command line window and issue the following command:
"<Installation Directory>/<Version
Number>/licensingclient/linx64/ansysli_util" -updateuserprefs -fromrevn <previous
release>
Example:
"/ansys_inc/v242/licensingclient/linx64/ansysli_util"
-updateuserprefs -fromrevn 242
Note: For both the automatic and the manual user licensing preferences migration, ansysli_util reads the ansyslmd.ini file or the ANSYSLMD_LICENSE_FILE environment variables to determine the correct license server.